Hacking ISIS nominated for the 2017 Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize - Nov 21, 2017

Hacking ISIS by Malcolm Nance and Chris Sampson is on the shortlist of prize nominees for the Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize for 2017. Airey Neave was a Parliament member from 1953-1979 for Abingdon. He was killed in a terrorist attack in March 1979. The book prize has been created to acknowlege books who contribute to the modern understanding of terrorism and whose content is relevant to current conditions in efforts to combat terrorism around the world.

From the Airey Neave Trust:



The Trustees of the Airey Neave Trust are delighted to announce that the four books chosen for the Short List for consideration for this year’s prize are:


Al-Qaeda’s Revenge:  The 2004 Madrid Train Bombings – Fernando Reinares & Bruce Riedel (Columbia University Press)

Anatomy of Terror: From the Death of bin Laden to the Rise of the Islamic State – Ali Soufan (W. W. Norton &Co)

Hacking ISIS: How to Destroy the Cyber Jihad – Malcolm Nance & Christopher Sampson (Skyhorse Publishing)

Soldier Spy – Tom Marcus (Penguin Books)

The winner of the 2017 Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize will be announced on November 22nd 2017 and will be presented by Lord Evans of Weardale KCB DL (Jonathan Evans, former Director-General of the British Security Service, the United Kingdom’s domestic security and counter-intelligence service) and a cheque for £5,000 will be handed over to the winning author by Julian Enoizi, CEO of Pool Reinsurance Company.

The judges are:

Sir David Veness CBE – former Under-Secretary General of the UN Department of Safety and Security from its creation in 2005 until June 2009. This role carries responsibility for UN operations globally. Prior to this appointment, he was Assistant Commissioner (Specialist Operations) New Scotland Yard from 1994-2005.


Brigadier Ed Butler CBE DSO – retired from the British Army as a Brigadier after an operational career spanning 24 years, much of it spent on global counter terrorist operations, including command of 22 SAS over 9/11 and British Forces in Afghanistan in 2006. Now Head of Risk Analysis and a member of the Executive Management team at Pool Reinsurance Ltd and senior advisor to EDF Energy (Nuclear) Generation.

Michael Bottenheim – Master of Law, Leiden University, MBA, Michigan State University. Non-Executive Director and member of the advisory board of Montrose Associates. Formerly Director of UPM-Kymmene, Helsinki (2001-2009) and Senior Adviser, Lincoln International(2003-2014). Managing Director of Lazard Brothers & Co. Limited (1985-2000), Director of Citicorp, London and Zurich (1976-1985), and a former Member of the Supervisory Board of Abemy B.V. Netherlands.

Sir David Omand GCB – the first UK Security and Intelligence Coordinator, responsible to the Prime Minister for the professional health of the intelligence community, national counter-terrorism strategy and “homeland security”. He served for seven years on the Joint Intelligence Committee. He was Permanent Secretary of the Home Office from 1997 to 2000, and before that Director of GCHQ (the UK Sigint Agency). Previously, in the Ministry of Defence as Deputy Under Secretary of State for Policy, he was particularly concerned with long term strategy, with the British military contribution in restoring peace in the former Yugoslavia and the recasting of British nuclear deterrence policy at the end of the Cold War. He was Principal Private Secretary to the Defence Secretary during the Falklands conflict, and served for three years in NATO Brussels as the UK Defence Counsellor.

Professor Michael Clarke – Director General of the Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) from 2007 to 2015. Until 2001 he was Deputy Vice-Principal and Director for Research Development at King’s College London, where he remains a Visiting Professor of Defence Studies. From 1990 to 2001 he was the founding Director of the Centre for Defence Studies at King’s. He has been a specialist adviser to the House of Commons Defence Committee since 1997, having served previously with the House of Commons Foreign Affairs Committee 1995-6, and the Joint Parliamentary Committee on Bribery in 2009. In 2004 he was appointed as the UK’s member of the UN Secretary General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters. In 2009 he was appointed to the Prime Minister’s National Security Forum and in 2010 to the Chief of Defence Staff’s Strategic Advisory Group. He also served on the Strategic Advisory Panel on Defence for UK Trade and Industry and in 2014 was Chairman of the Defence Communications Advisory panel for the Ministry of Defence.

-Previous- « -Next- »